top of page

Understanding the Five Stages of Grief

five stages of grief

Exploring the Development of the Five Stages of Grief

The concept of the five stages of grief has become widely known, but it is essential to understand the origins and potential variations of this model.

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, a renowned figure in the field, introduced the five stages of grief in her influential book, "On Death and Dying," published in 1969. Initially designed to illustrate the emotional journey of individuals facing a terminal illness, Kübler-Ross's model was later adapted to encompass the broader realm of grief.

Unraveling the Order of the Five Stages

While the five stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—are often portrayed as a linear progression, it is crucial to recognize that grief does not always adhere to a fixed timeframe or follow a strictly sequential path.

In her writings, Kübler-Ross emphasized the non-linear nature of the stages, explaining that individuals can experience different facets of grief at various times, without adhering to a specific order. It is not uncommon to undergo only certain stages or encounter varying emotional responses when dealing with different forms of bereavement.

An In-Depth Look at the Five Stages of Grief

Denial: The Initial Response

In the early days after a bereavement, it is common to experience a sense of numbness. Some individuals may continue their daily routines as if nothing has happened. Despite being intellectually aware of the loss, it can be challenging to accept the absence of someone significant. Moreover, it is not unusual to feel their presence, hear their voice, or even perceive visual manifestations of their existence.

Anger: Unleashing a Natural Emotion

Anger is a natural and expected emotional response following the death of a loved one. The concept of death can evoke feelings of cruelty and injustice, particularly when it seems premature or disrupts shared plans for the future. It is also common to direct anger towards the deceased or experience self-directed anger, stemming from regrets about past actions or inactions.

Bargaining: The Quest for Control

In times of anguish, accepting the irrevocable nature of loss can be immensely challenging. Bargaining arises as individuals seek to regain a sense of control over their circumstances. This may involve making personal agreements or appeals to a higher power, especially for those who hold religious beliefs. Dwelling on past events and engaging in "what if" ruminations, hoping for an alternative outcome, is also a typical aspect of this stage.

Depression: Engulfed by Sadness and Longing

When contemplating grief, sadness and longing are often at the forefront of our thoughts. The pain associated with loss can be intense, manifesting in waves that persist for months or even years. Life may lose its meaning, leaving individuals with a deep sense of emptiness and fear.

Acceptance: Embracing a New Reality

Although grief may initially feel like an insurmountable wave crashing relentlessly, most individuals gradually find solace as time progresses. The pain begins to subside, making space for acceptance. While the loss of someone cherished can never be fully "overcome," it becomes possible to forge ahead, preserving their memories and integrating them into our lives.

Grief is a multifaceted journey that affects individuals in unique ways. Understanding the five stages—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—provides a framework for comprehending the emotional complexities involved. However, it is crucial to remember that grief is a deeply personal experience, and the timing and intensity of each stage can vary from person to person. By acknowledging this diversity, we can offer support and compassion to those navigating the challenging path of bereavement.

NCLEX: National Council Licensure Examination, OIIQ: Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec, OIIAQ: Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Recent Posts
bottom of page